LEGAL FACTS – Numero Uno Facts

  1. First Source of Law – Manusmriti
  2. First Law Giver – Manu
  3. Earliest era in Codified Laws – Gupta Dynasty Reign (335-445 B.C.)
  4. First Court by East India Company – Court of Judicature set-up in 1672 at Calcutta.
  5. First Federal Court – Stated functioning in December 1937 in Delhi to decide any dispute between Centre and States under the then prevailing the Government of India Act, 1935. The Court functioned for 13 years till the Supreme Court started functioning.
  6. First Chief Justice of Federal Court – Maurice Gwyer
  7. First Chief Justice of Supreme Court – H. J. Kaniya
  8. First President of India – Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  9. First Vice-President of India – Dr. Sarvpalli Radha Krishnan
  10. First Prime Minister of India – Jawahar Lal Nehru
  11. First Deputy Prime Minister of India – Vallabhbhai Patel
  12. First Woman President of India – Pratibha Devi Singh Patil
  13. First Woman Prime Minister of India – Mrs. Indira Gandhi
  14. First Woman Judge of Supreme Court in India – Meera Fatima Beevi, appointed Judge of Supreme Court in 1989. She is the Second Woman in the World after Sandra Day O’Conner of the US to be appointed to this high office.
  15. First Woman Chief Justice of a High Court in India – Leila Seth
  16. First Woman Judge of a High Court in India – Anna Chandi
  17. First Indian to become Judge of a High Court in India – Justice Syed Mehamood (1978)
  18. First Woman Judge in India – Anna Chandi
  19. First Lady Magistrate – Omana Kunjamma
  20. First Woman Advocate in India Camelia Sorabji
  21. First Indian Judge of international Court of Justice – Dr. Nagendra Singh
  22. First High Court/Oldest High Court – Calcutta high Court established in 1862
  23. First Attorney General of India – M.C. Setalvad
  24. First Solicitor General of India – C.K. Daphtary
  25. First Public Prosecutor in India – S. Subramania lyer was appointed as public prosecutor at Madras in 1887.
  26. First Bar-at-Law – J.M. Tagore
  27. First Speaker of Lok Sabha – G.V. Maviankar
  28. First Woman Speaker of Lok Sabha – Meira Kumar
  29. First Woman President of UN General Assembly – Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Pandit
  30. First Woman Governor of a State – Mrs. Sarojini Naidu
  31. First Woman Chief Minister of a State – Mrs. Sucheta Kripalani
  32. First Woman Minister – Mrs. Vijayalakshmi Pandit
  33. First Woman Central Minster – Rajkumari Amrit Kaur
  34. First Woman Speaker of State Legislative Assembly – Mrs. Shanno Devi
  35. First Woman IAS Officer – Anna George Malhotra
  36. First Woman IPS Officer – Kiran Bedi.
  37. First British Governor General – Warren Hastings
  38. First Governor General of Free India – Lord Mountbatten
  39. First Viceroy of India – Lord Canning
  40. Last Governor General of free India – C. Rajagopalachari
  41. First Lok Adalat – Held in kalyan, near Bombay on experimental basis in 1978.
  42. First Permanent Lok Adalat – Set-up in Chandigarh in January 1998 with Justice SK Sardana as the Judge
  43. First Permanent Lok Adalat for Tribals – ‘Opened in Paderu in Andhra Pradesh
  44. First Lok Adalat for Women – Exclusively for women issues, matrimonial and other family problems, organized in Delhi by Delhi Commission for Women and Delhi Legal Services Authority
  45. First e-courtroom in India – Delhi high Court in December 2009
  46. Highest Compensation Award – $470 million (Rs. 715 crores) by Union Carbide (USA) the Bhopal Gas Tragedy victims
  47. Largest No. of States covered by a single High Court – Guwahati High Court having jurisdiction over Assam, Nagaland, Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh
  48. First Litigation Free Village – Varavoor Panchayat in Thrissur District, Kerala on May, 2000 declared Litigation free Village
  49. First Mobile Court – Haryana
  50. First Chief information Commissioner of India – Wajahat Habibulla
  51. First President of National Consumer Dispute Redressal Commission – Justice Balkrishna Eradi
  52. First Chairman of National Human Rights Commission – Rangnath Mishra
  53. First Chief Election Commissioner of India – Sukumar Sen
  54. First preventive Detention Law – Bengal State Prisoners Regulation Ill (introduced in 1784) It provided for detention and deportation of political Finds prisoners and revolutionaries without trial
  55. First Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha – AK. Gopalan
  56. First Women’s Court in India – Maida, West Bengal
  57. First Law Minister – B. R. Ambedkar

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!