Warren Hastings (AD 1774-85)

● He brought the dual government to an end by the Regulating Act, 1773.

● The Act of 1781 made clear demarcation between the jurisdiction of the Governor General-in-Council and Supreme Court at Calcutta.

● Pitt’s India Act (1784), Rohilla War (1774), First Maratha War (1775-1782) and Treaty of Salbai with Marathas (1782) and Second Mysore War (1780- 84).

● Foundation of Asiatic Society of Bengal (1784) in Calcutta by Sir William Jones.

● English translations of Bhagavad Gita by Charles Wilkins in 1785.

Lord Cornwallis (AD 1786-93)

● Third Mysore War (1790-92) and Treaty of Seringapatnam (1792).

● Introduced Permanent Settlement in Bengal and Bihar (1793).

● He is called the Father of Civil Services in India, introduced judicial reforms by separating revenue administration from judicial administration and established a system of circles (thanas, headed by a Daroga (an Indian).

● Translation of Abhigyan Shakuntalam in English by William Jones in 1789.

Sir John Shore (AD 1793-98)

● Played an important role in the introduction of Permanent Settlement.

● Battle of Kharda between the Nizams and the Marathas (1795).

 Lord Wellesley (AD 1798-1805)

● Introduction of the Subsidiary Alliance (1798), first alliance with Nizam of Hyderabad followed by Mysore, Tanjore, Awadh, the Peshwa, the Bhonsle and the Scindia.

● Treaty of Bassein (1802) and the Second Maratha War.

George Barlow (1805-07)

● Vellore Mutiny (1806)

Lord Minto I (AD 1807-13)

● Concluded the Treaty of Amritsar with Maharaja Ranjit Singh (1809).

● Charter Act of 1813 was passed.

Lord Hasting (AD 1813-23)

● Anglo Nepal War (1814-1816) and Treaty of Sagauli (1816).

● Third Maratha War (1817-18) dissolution of Maratha confederacy and creation of Bombay Presidency.

● Pindari War and establishment of Ryotwari System by Thomas Munro (1820).

Lord Amherst (AD 1823-28)

● First Burmese War (1824-26), Treaty of Yandaboo (1826) and capture of Bharatpur (1826).

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!